When it comes to teak wood, understanding the differences between its various grades is crucial. Teak wood, despite coming from the same tree trunk, varies in quality. This part of the tree is what we will categorize into grade A, grade B, and grade C, as shown in the image below:

Teak Wood Parts


Grade A Teak Wood (Prime Quality):

  • Color: Grade A teak wood is known for its consistent, rich, and dark coloration, ensuring uniformity across its surface.
  • Grain: This grade features finely crafted and uniform grain patterns, resulting in an elegant and visually pleasing appearance.
  • Dryness: With lower moisture levels, Grade A teak wood maintains excellent stability and resilience against size changes caused by humidity fluctuations.
  • Hardness: Renowned for its exceptional hardness and durability, Grade A teak wood excels in high-stress applications.
Grade A Teak

Grade A Teak

Grade A teak wood represents the pinnacle of teak quality. It specifically denotes timber extracted from the central heartwood of a fully mature tree. Discernable through its uniform, golden-brown hue, tight grain patterns, and a sleek, tactilely oily surface, Grade A teak wood possesses a high concentration of natural teak oils. These oils serve as the cornerstone of teak’s remarkable resilience against outdoor elements, acting as a shield against adverse weather conditions and deterring insects. Regrettably, Grade A teak wood comprises only about one-fifth to one-quarter of the entire log, which results in its premium pricing.

Grade B Teak Wood (Standard Quality):

  • Color: Grade B teak wood may exhibit more noticeable color variations and less uniformity than Grade A, occasionally showcasing brighter spots or darker patches.
  • Grain: While the grain in Grade B teak wood can be somewhat coarser or less regular than Grade A, it still offers a reasonable level of aesthetic appeal.
  • Dryness: Featuring slightly higher moisture content than Grade A, Grade B may be somewhat more responsive to size changes due to humidity.
  • Hardness: Although slightly softer than Grade A, Grade B teak wood retains decent hardness, suitable for a variety of applications.
Grade B Teak

Grade B Teak

Grade B teak pertains to timber sourced from the outer heartwood portion, constituting approximately one-fourth to one-third of the log. In contrast to Grade A teak, Grade B teak exhibits a lighter color, irregular grain patterns, and diminished luster. It contains only minimal traces of teak’s natural oils and, consequently, lacks the capability to endure exposure to outdoor elements without protective treatments. Even with such treatments, its lifespan falls significantly shorter than furniture crafted from the highest quality teak.

Grade C Teak Wood (Rustic Quality):

  • Color: Grade C teak wood is characterized by striking color variations, often appearing brighter and embracing its rustic charm.
  • Grain: The grain in Grade C teak wood intentionally exhibits rough and irregular patterns, creating a unique and rustic appearance.
  • Dryness: Typically with a higher moisture content, Grade C may require specific care to prevent significant size fluctuations in response to humidity.
  • Hardness: Grade C teak wood tends to be softer and more susceptible to mechanical wear compared to Grades A and B.
Grade C Teak

Grade C Teak

Grade C teak wood represents an inferior quality within the teak wood spectrum. This grade encompasses timber sourced from the outer sections of mature logs (sapwood) and logs from immature trees. Grade C teak wood is characterized by its virtual absence of teak’s natural protective oils, an extremely uneven colouration.


We hope you found this article helpful. If you’d like to know more about our teak garden furniture, please contact us by phone or email; we’ll do our best to help.

Add to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You have already added 0 property



Login Account

6 or more characters, letters and numbers. Must contain at least one number.

Invaild email address.